The Day We Met

What is your happiest memory? Describe it in rich detail — the setting, the sights, the sounds, the smells.

I don’t think I will ever forget this day.

It was a beautiful day in late July. My eyes were hidden behind my sunglasses as I rode the bus down the main street. The sun glared off the busses dingy windows and every seemed content to chatter softly.

My nerves were on edge. I had done this before – meet people online – but this time it was different. I had this feeling as if I’d met you before. I couldn’t stop looking at your picture the night before. It made me jittery and gleeful just thinking about it.

We promised to meet outside at the malls food court. Every step I took closer to you, felt my heart beat fasten and the blush on my cheeks get hotter. I clutched my bag firmly to my hip. I was so nervous even if I didn’t want to admit it.

Just as I came around the corner I slowed my pace. I was getting all worked up. There was a stone hedge dividing the entrances and the hidden patio nook. I saw you and I froze. I never did tell you how I hid behind that wall and collected myself. I took in some deep breaths and did an ‘oh-my-gosh he’s here’ with my hands. Oh course I suddenly felt over dressed as I noticed your casual shorts and grey hoodie.

As I stepped around the wall, I walked up to you, you looked up at me and asked me my name. I said yes. Your lower jaw dropped and you stood up suddenly. I bit my lip. I’d never caused that much of a rile out of anyone I’d previously met.

I don’t know when I knew, I think I just knew from the moment I saw you that you were soul mate. As we are still together till this day forth. Plus wedding bells in the near future!

Leave a Reply

